CUBE Bathymetric data Processing and Analysis

Introduction

The Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) has been using Caris-HIPS as its main bathymetric processing tool. This document outlines the optimal CUBE processing workflow and methodology in order to obtain high quality Bathymetric Surfaces and their associated uncertainties.

1 Data acquisition best practice

The quality of the final bathymetric surface is directly related to the quality of the acquired data. It is therefore important for the hydrographer to understand and execute a rigorous data acquisition methodology, be able to recognize the problems as they occur and apply the adequate corrective actions before the end of the survey. This will considerably reduce the CUBE processing time and the bathymetric surface uncertainties.

2 Minimising the systematic errors

Table 1 is designed to be used for the preparation of surveys as well as the processing of bathymetric data. It should be used as a guideline for the optimization of the acquisition and processing in order to obtain the best extract of a bathymetric dataset. To achieve the resolution and precision listed in Table 1, the hydrographer must take into account the characteristics of the survey equipment and adapt the survey methodology (see notes in the Table 1). CHS has determined a depth up to which the data must be checked and validated to ensure that all shoals are included in the final surface. This depth limit is set to navigational characteristics of the area plus a safety margin or the maximum of 50 meters. In depths greater than 50 meters, CHS will ensure a minimum validation of the data.

Table 1 : Recommended Base surface resolution

Depth up to Surface resolution Size of features detected POSACC SOUACC Positioning system requirement CHS Order Comments
15m 0.25m 0.125m <0.19 RTK PPK Exclusive Special
25m 0.50m 0.25m <0.31 RTK PPK Special
50m 1.00m 0.50m <0.45 PPP DGPS WASS C-Nav Starfix Special Shoal validation limit
100m 2.00m 1.00m <1.39 Standalone post-processing 1
100m+ 5.00m+ 2.50m+ <2.51+ Standalone GPS 2

Notes:

  • CUBE surface resolution should have at least 5 pings per cell in order to achieve the resolution specified in column #2.
  • The location and the order of the survey are taken into account when determining the SVP, acquisition and tide reduction strategies to be used (i.e. distance from the tide station gauge, sound speed at the transducer head, limit the swath angle, frequencies, etc.).
Date modified:

Traitement et analyse des données bathymétriques de CUBE

Introduction

Le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) utilise le logiciel Caris-HIPS comme principal outil de traitement des données bathymétriques. Le présent document donne un aperçu de la méthodologie et du flux de traitement CUBE permettant d'obtenir des surfaces bathymétriques de grande qualité et leurs incertitudes associées.

1 Meilleures pratiques en matière d'acquisition des données

La qualité de la surface bathymétrique finale est directement liée à la qualité des données acquises. Par conséquent, il est important que l'hydrographe comprenne et applique une méthode rigoureuse d'acquisition des données, soit capable de reconnaître les problèmes dès leur apparition et applique les mesures correctrices adéquates avant la fin du levé. Cela réduira considérablement la durée du traitement CUBE et les incertitudes des surfaces bathymétriques.

2 Minimiser les erreurs systématiques

Le Tableau 1 est conçu pour préparer des levés et le traitement des données bathymétriques. Il doit être utilisé comme ligne directrice pour l'optimisation de l'acquisition et du traitement, afin d'obtenir le meilleur extrait d'un ensemble de données bathymétriques. Pour obtenir la résolution et la précision indiquées dans le Tableau 1, l'hydrographe doit tenir compte des caractéristiques de l'équipement de levé et adapter la méthode de levé (consulter les remarques du tableau 1). Le SHC a déterminé une profondeur jusqu'à laquelle les données doivent être vérifiées et validées pour que tous les hauts fonds soient inclus dans la surface finale. Cette limite de profondeur est fixée aux caractéristiques de navigation de la zone auxquelles on a ajouté une marge de sécurité, ou au maximum de 50 mètres. Dans les profondeurs supérieures à 50 mètres, le SHC assurera une validation minimale des données.

Tableau 1 : Résolution recommandée de la surface de base

Profondeur jusqu'à Résolution de la surface / Dimension des éléments détectés POSACC SOUACC Exigence liée au système de positionnement Ordre du SHC Commentaires
15m 0,25m 0,125m <0,19 RTK PPK Spécial exclusif
25m 0,50m 0,25m <0,31 RTK PPK Spécial
50m 1,00m 0,50m <0,45 PPP DGPS WASS C-Nav Starfix Spécial Limite de validation des hauts-fonds
100m 2,00m 1,00m <1,39 Post-traitement autonome 1
100m+ 5,00m+ 2,50m+ <2,51+ GPS autonome 2

Remarques :

  • La résolution de la surface CUBE doit avoir au moins 5 impulsions par cellule pour atteindre la résolution précisée dans la colonne no 2.
  • L'emplacement et l'ordre du levé sont pris en compte lors de la détermination des stratégies de mesure de profils de la vitesse du son, d'acquisition et de réduction des niveaux d'eau à utiliser (c.-à-d. distance de la station marégraphique / jauge, la vitesse du son à la tête du transducteur, la limite du secteur de fauchée, les fréquences, etc.).
Date de modification :