Data Products and Surveys

When creating charts and navigational products, CHS collects a wealth of data that is invaluable for a wide-range of research, survey and navigational projects.

Field Surveys

Field Data (Digital)

Modern hydrographic surveys are conducted using the latest satellite positioning technology, advanced multibeam bathymetric data collection systems, and powerful data processing, analysis and portrayal tools.

For information on available digital hydrographic data, please email us at

Field Sheets (Hardcopy)

CHS has an extensive collection of hydrographic survey data in the form of field sheets based on over 100 years of surveying in Canada. Data has been collected using a wide range of methods and systems, from lead-line to modern day multi-transducer and multibeam systems. Positions have been established using the different types of terrestrial systems and methods available over many years - up to the latest advanced satellite positioning systems.

For information on available field sheets, please email us at

Hydrographic Surveys

CHS hydrographers are actively engaged in surveying and measuring Canada’s inland navigable waterways out to the edge of the continental shelf and beyond, the Great Lakes, and the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic Ocean coasts. The data collected by hydrographers is used to produce authoritative nautical charts and publications which support a broad range of marine activities.

Hydrographic surveys capture water depths, geographical features, hazards to navigation, man-made and natural features that aid navigation, tides, currents and water levels, and sea bottom characteristics. We follow rigorous, internationally-recognized standards and guidelines when we conduct hydrographic surveys.

To learn more about our guidelines and standards:


Bathymetric Products

Bathymetric Maps

CHS’s bathymetric maps contain a wealth of detail about the nature of the seafloor and the material beneath it. These maps are generally of interest to users whose prime focus is not navigation. Although CHS no longer produces lithographically printed versions of bathymetric maps, a large number of bathymetric maps from our Natural Resource Map series is available for free download. This data is available under a free license from the following link:

Magnetic and gravity maps are available from the Geological Survey of Canada.

General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO)

The General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO) series consists of 18 map sheets covering the world. An overview map is also available. GEBCO maps are available as a box set of printed maps from CHS or as individual sheets.

A digital version of GEBCO has been published by the British Oceanographic Data Centre (BODC) on behalf of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO and the IHO. The 3rd edition of the GEBCO Digital Atlas was released in April 2003 and can be obtained through the BODC. For more information contact the BODC by email at or via the BODC web site.

Bathymetric Gridded Data

CHS offers 500-metre bathymetric gridded data for users interested in the topography of the seafloor. This data provides seafloor depth in metres and is accessible for download as predefined areas.

Although the current bathymetric gridded data collection is limited, it will be continuously expanding as more data becomes available. This data is available under license from the following link:

For more information on our bathymetric gridded data, please email us at

CHS High Definition Bathymetry Trials

The Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) is involved in the development of the next standard to be used for bathymetric data named S-100. This new standard will permit the management of gridded bathymetric data in high definition. CHS wants to test and try technical solutions in collaboration with software manufacturers, mariners and other potential users of High Definition (HD) bathymetry. For this, CHS provides to interested persons datasets of HD bathymetry. The sector of Trois-Rivières harbour was selected for these initial trials.

The datasets include 18 HD bathymetry cells.

  • 16 cells of level 1
  • 2 cells of level 2

These datasets are available under license and may be used for tests and trials only.

If you wish to request a copy of the test data, please download and save a copy of the Direct User Licence Agreement. You may complete it electronically or by hand. The portions of the licence to be filled in by the recipient are shown in blue text. Please return the completed DULA to CHS by fax at 613-996-9053 or by e-mailing the complete PDF file to

  • Level 1 cells

    Level 1 cells

  • Level 2 cells

    Level 2 cells

Technical Details

The data are coded into 32 bit Geotiff format. This encoding format was retained by CHS for now, but CHS plan to use the format JPEG2000 when the software libraries will be more accessible.

Suggested Open Source Library for Geotiff 32 bits is GDAL (Geospatial Data Abstraction Library)

Level 1
Cell covering an area of 0.02 x 0.02 decimal degrees with a grid resolution of 0.00002 decimal degrees (resolution of approximately 2 meters).
Level 2
Cell covering 0.1 x 0.1 decimal degrees with a grid resolution of 0.0001 decimal degrees (resolution of approximately 8 meters).

Each TIFF file has a resolution of 1000 pixels by 1000 pixels

Each cell name begins with the S-W corner lat-long coordinate in decimal degrees followed by the level of resolution (example : 46307256_LOD1.tif).

Depths are in meters and referenced to chart datum

Depths above chart datum are coded as positive numbers while depths below chart datum are codes as negative numbers.

Suggested applications to open and visualize Geotiff 32 bits files with the depth values:


Terms and Conditions for Use of the Canadian Hydrographic Service Digital Data on the CHS Public Website

If you would like to use digital data from the Canadian Hydrographic Service Public Website, please read this Canadian Hydrographic Service Public Website Clickwrap Agreement. If you agree with the terms and conditions of the CHS Public Website Clickwrap Agreement, please click on the "I agree" button.

Notice for your safety: Please note that data obtained from this site is not suitable for navigation. Only official charts issued by or on the authority of the Canadian Hydrographic Service meet the requirements of the Charts and Nautical Publications Regulations, 1995.

Horizontal Control Point Data

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) is the authoritative source for horizontal control data in Canada.

  • Access NRCan’s online database

If you’d like to speak to the Canadian Hydrographic Service about this type of information, please email us at

Maritime Boundaries

CHS plays a vital role in helping determine Canada's maritime boundaries. CHS's charts delineate the territorial sea of Canada, the contiguous zone of Canada, and the exclusive economic zone of Canada. For information on available maritime boundaries maps, please email us at or visit our interactive maps.

High-water Line for British Columbia

The CHS Pacific High Water Coastline Dataset is a high resolution vector coastline that represents the Higher High Water Large Tides mark in BC’s tidal waters.

This shapefile format coastline is derived from a compilation of sources including modern satellite imagery and other CHS data products and is designed for GIS users in the non-navigation community.


Sea Floor Classification Data for British Columbia Waters

The CHS Pacific Seafloor Classification Dataset is a continuous surface of statistically derived polygons from over 140000 point samples collected between 1911-2008. This shapefile format seabed characterization is distilled into 36 discrete classes based on CHS Chart No. 1 and a modified Folk classification system.


Date modified:

Données et levés

Pour l’élaboration de cartes marines et de produits destinés à la navigation, le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) recueille une grande quantité de données inestimables pour un large éventail de projets de recherche, de levé et de navigation.

Levés

Données acquises sur le terrain (numériques)

Les levés hydrographiques modernes sont effectués à l’aide des plus récentes technologies de positionnement par satellite, par des dispositifs d’acquisition de données bathymétriques multifaisceaux de pointe et par de puissants outils de traitement, d’analyse et de profilage des données.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les données hydrographiques numériques disponibles, communiquez avec nous par courriel à chsinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Minutes hydrographiques (format papier)

Le SHC dispose de données provenant de levés hydrographiques, consignées en minutes hydrographiques recueillies sur une période de plus de 100 ans de levés au Canada. Les données ont été acquises à l’aide de différentes méthodes et de divers dispositifs, allant de la sonde aux multitransducteurs modernes et aux dispositifs multifaisceaux. Les positions sont établies avec différents types de méthodes et systèmes terrestres utilisés au fil du temps, allant jusqu’aux systèmes avancés de positionnement par satellite.

Pour plus de renseignements au sujet des minutes hydrographiques, communiquez avec nous par courriel à chsinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Levés hydrographiques

Les hydrographes du SHC s’occupent des levés et des mesures des voies navigables des eaux intérieures du Canada jusqu’aux limites du plateau continental et même au-delà, des Grands Lacs, ainsi que des côtes de l’Atlantique, du Pacifique et de l’Arctique. Les données acquises par les hydrographes sont utilisées pour l’élaboration de cartes marines et de publications nautiques officielles qui servent à un grand nombre d'activités marines.

Les levés hydrographiques servent à recueillir des données sur les profondeurs, les entités géographiques, les dangers à la navigation, les entités anthropiques et naturelles qui facilitent la navigation, les courants et niveaux de l'eau, ainsi que les caractéristiques des fonds marins. Nous suivons des normes et des lignes directrices strictes, reconnues sur la scène internationale, pour effectuer nos levés hydrographiques.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur nos lignes directrices et normes :

Bathymétrie

Cartes bathymétriques

Les cartes bathymétriques du SHC contiennent une foule de renseignements sur la nature des fonds marins et leur sous-sol. Ces cartes intéressent principalement les utilisateurs pour qui la navigation n’est pas le but premier. Bien que le SHC ne produise plus de versions lithographiques de ses cartes bathymétriques, de nombreuses cartes de la série Ressources naturelles sont offertes par téléchargement gratuit. Ces données peuvent être utilisées après l’obtention d’une licence gratuite ; pour obtenir cette licence gratuite, suivre ce lien : http://charts.gc.ca/data-gestion/resourcemaps-cartesressources-fra.asp.

Les cartes sur le magnétisme et sur la gravité peuvent être obtenues auprès de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Cartes océanographiques (General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans – GEBCO)

Les séries GEBCO comprennent 18 feuillets cartographiques couvrant le monde entier. Vous pouvez également obtenir une carte donnant une vue d’ensemble. Les cartes GEBCO sont offertes individuellement ou sous la forme d’un coffret d'ensemble de cartes imprimées par le SHC.

Une version numérique des cartes GEBCO a été publiée par le British Oceanographic Data Centre (BODC) pour le compte de la Commission océanographique intergouvernementale (COI) de l'UNESCO et de l'OHI. La troisième édition du GEBCO Digital Atlas a été publiée en avril 2003 et peut être obtenue auprès du BODC. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec le BODC par courriel à enquiries@bodc.ac.uk ou consultez le site Web du BODC.

Données bathymétriques carroyées

Le Service hydrographique du Canada offre des données bathymétriques carroyées de 500 mètres aux utilisateurs qui s’intéressent à la topographie des fonds marins. Ces données, qui peuvent être téléchargées, fournissent la profondeur en mètres de zones prédéfinies.

Il est à noter que l’ensemble actuel de données bathymétriques carroyées est limité, mais qu’il augmentera de façon continue au fur et à mesure que des données seront disponibles. Si vous possédez une licence à cet effet, vous pouvez obtenir ces données en vous rendant à l’adresse : http://charts.gc.ca/data-gestion/500map-fra.asp.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur nos données bathymétriques carroyées, veuillez nous envoyer un courriel au shcinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Bathymétrie haute définition du SHC en développement

Le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) est impliqué dans le développement de la prochaine norme pour les données hydrographiques nommée S-100. Cette nouvelle norme permettra de gérer la bathymétrie carroyée en haute définition. Le SHC désire effectuer des essais sur certaines solutions techniques en collaboration avec les manufacturiers logiciels, les navigateurs et les autres usagers potentiels de la bathymétrie haute définition (HD). Pour ce faire, le SHC met à la disposition des personnes intéressées un ensemble de données bathymétriques en haute définition. Le secteur du Port de Trois-Rivières a été retenu pour les tests initiaux.

L’ensemble de données comprend dix-huit cellules HD :

  • 16 cellules de niveau 1
  • 2 cellules de niveau 2

Ces données sont disponibles sous licences et ne doivent être utilisées que pour des essais seulement.

Si vous souhaitez demander une copie des données, svp téléchargez et conservez une copie de l'Entente de licence d'utilisateur direct. Vous pouvez compléter cette licence électroniquement ou de façon manuscrite. Les parties de la licence à compléter par l'acquéreur sont présentées en bleu dans le texte. Prière de retourner le formulaire de licence complété par télécopieur à 613-996-9053 ou par courriel en format PDF à chsinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

  • Cellules de niveau 1

    Cellules de niveau 1

  • Cellules de niveau 2

    Cellules de niveau 2

Cellules de niveau 1 Cellules de niveau 2

Détails techniques

Les données sont encodées en format GeoTIFF 32 bits. Ce format a été retenu par le SHC pour l’instant mais le SHC envisage utiliser le format JPEG2000 lorsque les librairies logicielles seront plus accessibles.

La librairie de logiciels de type Open Source suggérée pour lire et traiter les données en format GeoTIFF 32 bits est le GDAL (Geospatial Data Abstraction Library) http://www.gdal.org

Niveau 1
Cellule qui couvre une surface de 0.02 x 0.02 degrés décimaux avec une résolution de grille de 0.00002 degrés décimaux (résolution d’environ 2 mètre).
Niveau 2
Cellule qui couvre une surface de 0.1 x 0.1 degrés décimaux avec une résolution de grille de 0.0001 degrés décimaux (résolution d’environ 8 mètres).

Chaque fichier GeoTIFF a 1000 lignes et 1000 colonnes.

Le nom des fichiers désignent le coin sud-ouest de la cellule en degrés décimaux suivi du niveau de résolution (exemple : 46307256_LOD1.tif).

Les profondeurs sont en mètres par rapport au zéro des cartes.

Les profondeurs sont positives lorsqu’elles sont au dessus du zéro des cartes et négatives lorsqu’elles sont au-dessous du zéro des cartes.

Les logiciels suivants permettent d’ouvrir et de visualiser des données encodées en Geotiff 32 bits:

Autres

Conditions d'utilisation des données numériques du Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) qui se trouvent sur son site Web

Si vous souhaitez utiliser des données numériques qui se trouvent sur le site Web du SHC, veuillez lire ceci : Entente par clic sur l'utilisation du site Web du Service hydrographique du Canada. Si vous acceptez les conditions de l'Entente par clic sur l'utilisation du site Web du Service hydrographique du Canada, cliquez sur le bouton « J'accepte ».

Pour votre sécurité : veuillez prendre note que les données obtenues depuis ce site ne conviennent pas à la navigation. Seules les cartes marines officielles diffusées par le Service hydrographique du Canada répondent aux exigences du Règlement sur les cartes marines et les publications nautiques (1995).

Points de contrôle planimétrique

Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) est la source officielle des données sur les points de contrôle planimétriques au Canada.

  • Accès à la base de données en ligne de RNCan

Communiquez avec le Service hydrographique du Canada à chsinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca si vous voulez obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ce genre de données.

Limites maritimes

Le SHC joue un rôle de premier plan dans la détermination des limites maritimes du Canada. Les cartes marines du SHC délimitent les eaux territoriales du Canada, la zone contiguë et la Zone économique exclusive du Canada. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les cartes indiquant les limites maritimes, communiquez avec nous par courriel à chsinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca ou consultez le site de nos cartes interactives.

Laisse de haute mer de la Colombie-Britannique

L'ensemble de données de la laisse de haute mer du Pacifique du SHC est un trait côtier vectoriel à haute résolution qui représente la marque de haute mer dans les eaux à marées de la Colombie-Britannique.

Ce trait côtier en format de fichier de formes (shapefile format) est dérivé d’une compilation de sources dont de l’imagerie satellitaire moderne et d’autres produits de données du SHC ; il est destiné aux utilisateurs de SIG qui ne font pas partie de la communauté maritime.

Télécharger

Données de classification des fonds marins de la Colombie-Britannique

L’ensemble de données de classification des fonds marins du Pacifique du SHC est une surface continue de polygones déduits de statistiques de plus de 140 000 échantillons ponctuels acquis entre 1911 et 2008. Cette caractérisation des fonds marins en format de fichier de formes (shapefile format) est filtrée en 36 classes discrètes basées sur la Carte nº 1 et sur un système de classification de Folk modifié.

Télécharger

Date de modification :