Important Messages

Notice to all users of Canadian Hydrographic Service Tides, Currents and Water-Level (TCWL) web-site - posted on: 02/22/2017

The CHS Tide, Current and Water-Level website is temporarily unavailable due to a hardware failure. Restoration efforts are underway and the web-site will be restored to operation as soon as possible. We apologize for the any inconvenience to our TCWL clients.

ERRATUM – Canadian Tide and Current Tables, Edition 2017, Volume 3, St. Lawrence River and Saguenay Fjord - posted on: 02/09/2017

The Canadian Hydrographic Service – Quebec Region has recently been informed that there is an error in the 2017 Canadian Tide and Current Tables, Volume 3, St. Lawrence River and Saguenay Fjord, page 64, Index no. 2815 – BAIE-TRINITÉ.

Service Interruption: Great Lakes water level info - posted on: 10/11/2016

Please be advised that the Great Lakes Water Levels is currently unavailable. During this time please use the voice announcement to obtain real time water levels at Great Lakes water level gauges.

Service Interruption: Great Lakes water level info - posted on: 03/11/2016

Please be advised that the Great Lakes Water Levels will be unavailable on the website from March 11 at 15:00 EST until March 14 at 12:00 EST. During this time please use the voice announcement to obtain real time water levels at Great Lakes water level gauges.

ERRATUM 2016 CANADIAN TIDE AND CURRENT TABLES VOLUME 5 Juan de Fuca and Strait of Georgia - posted on: 12/08/2015

Please note that Table 4 - REFERENCE AND SECONDARY CURRENT STATIONS is missing from Volume 5 of the 2016 Canadian Hydrographic Service Tide and Current Tables. Table 4 should appear on page 135 of the publication. Consequently the pagination of pages 135 through 140 is in error and should be identified as pages 136 through 141.

Imperial and metric units for 2015 tidal predictions are available in PDF format online. - posted on: 01/14/2015

As of January 1, 2015 Tide Tables are now printed in metric units only. Imperial and metric unit tide predictions are however available online at tides.gc.ca Please keep in mind that the only official version required by the Shipping Act carriage regulations is the paper version.

Caution with Vertical Clearances - posted on: 07/25/2014

The Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) would like to inform you that the vertical clearances on charts and equivalent BSB 1313, 1314, 4026, 4275, 2250, 2283-1, 2283-2, 4266, 4201 are inaccurate. Caution. Notices to Shipping have been issued. Notices to Mariners will be issued in the next edition.

Explanatory Note Regarding the Practice of CHS on the Communication of Hazards to Navigation - posted on: 11/25/2013

CHS may receive new information pertaining to navigation from various sources. All information is assessed to evaluate its quality and determine if it is a potential hazard to navigation.

Explanatory Note Regarding CHS Temporary and Preliminary Notices to Mariners (NOTMAR) Practice - posted on: 10/17/2013

CHS may receive new information pertaining to navigation products from various sources. All information is assessed to determine if it is navigationally significant.

Eliminating Canada – U.S. ENC Overlaps in the Great Lakes - posted on: 02/21/2013

To comply with internationally agreed practices, Canada and the United States of America have agreed to eliminate overlapping coverage of Electronic Navigation Charts (ENCs).

Eliminating Canada - U.S. ENC Overlaps - posted on: 11/16/2012

To comply with internationally agreed practices, Canada and the United States have agreed to eliminate overlapping coverage of Electronic Navigation Charts (ENCs).
The first area affected by the changes includes Juan de Fuca Stait, Haro Strait and Boundary Pass, was implemented December 15, 2011. Canada and the United States will continue to resolve ENC overlaps in the Pacific, Atlantic and Great Lakes regions. This new ENC coverage scheme will result in each country changing their areas of coverage, so that only one country's ENC would be available for any given area at a particular scale.

Termination of Tracings Production and Distribution - posted on: 10/31/2012

On December 31, 2012, CHS will no longer produce and distribute Tracings and the associated website section will be closed. As the result of the improved chart production and maintenance processes, CHS no longer needs to produce Tracings to update its charts, so it will no longer be distributing them.

Date modified:

Messages Importants

Entretien de l’infrastructure des technologies de l’information – 27 mai 2017, de 8h00 à 16h00 (HE) - posté sur : 05/25/2017

Nous procéderons à l’entretien des systèmes le samedi 27 mai 2017, de 8h00 à 16h00 (HAE). Ces travaux pourraient causer des interruptions de services sur certaines pages du site Web.

ERRATUM – Tables des marées et courants du Canada, Édition 2017, Volume 3, Fleuve Saint-Laurent et fjord du Saguenay - posté sur : 02/09/2017

Le Service hydrographique du Canada de la région du Québec a été récemment informé d’une erreur dans l’édition 2017 des Tables des marées et courants du Canada, Volume 3, Fleuve Saint-Laurent et fjord du Saguenay, page 64, no d’index 2815 BAIE-TRINITÉ.

Interruption de service: Grands Lacs information de niveau d'eau - posté sur : 10/11/2016

S'il vous plaît noter que les niveaux d'eau des Grands Lacs est actuellement indisponible. Pendant ce temps, veuillez utiliser le service vocal pour obtenir les niveaux d'eau en temps réel des jauges de niveau d'eau des Grands Lacs.

Interruption de service: Grands Lacs information de niveau d'eau - posté sur : 03/11/2016

Prière de prendre note que les niveaux d'eau des Grands Lacs ne seront pas accessibles dans le site web, du 11 mars à 15 h (HNE) jusqu'au 14 mars à midi (HNE). Pendant ce temps, veuillez utiliser le service vocal pour obtenir les niveaux d'eau en temps réel des jauges de niveau d'eau des Grands Lacs.

ERRATUM TABLES DES MARÉES ET COURANTS DU CANADA, VOLUME 5 Détroits de Juan de Fuca et de Georgia - posté sur : 12/08/2015

Veuillez noter que la Table 4 – STATIONS DE RÉFÉRENCE ET SECONDAIRES DE COURANTS ne figure pas dans le volume 5 des Tables des marées et courants de 2016 du Service hydrographique du Canada. L’absence de la table 4 à la page 135 de la publication a entraîné une erreur de pagination des pages 135 à 140 qui devraient être numérotées de 136 à 141.

Les unités impériales et métriques des prédictions des marées 2015 sont disponibles dans les PDF en ligne. - posté sur : 01/14/2015

Depuis le 1 janvier 2015, les Tables des marées sont dorénavant imprimées en offrant les unités métriques seulement. Les unités impériales et les unités métriques pour les prédictions des niveaux d'eau sont cependant disponibles en ligne au www.marees.gc.ca Veuillez considérer le fait que la seule version officielle requise par la Loi sur la marine marchande est la version papier.

Prudence avec les hauteurs libres - posté sur : 07/25/2014

Le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) aimerait vous faire savoir que les hauteurs libres sur les cartes et équivalents BSB 1313, 1314, 4026, 4275, 2250, 2283-1, 2283-2, 4266, 4201 sont erronées. Prudence. Les Avis à la navigation ont été publiés. Les Avis aux navigateurs seront publiés dans la prochaine édition.

Note explicative concernant la pratique du SHC en matière de communication de dangers à la navigation - posté sur : 11/25/2013

Le SHC reçoit des informations relatives à la navigation à partir de diverses sources. Toutes les informations sont vérifiées afin d'évaluer leur qualité et déterminer s'il y a un danger potentiel pour la navigation.

Note explicative concernant les pratiques du SHC en matière des Avis aux navigateurs (NOTMAR) temporaires et préliminaires - posté sur : 10/17/2013

Le SHC peut recevoir de nouvelles informations relatives aux produits de navigation à partir de diverses sources. Toutes les informations sont évaluées afin de déterminer leur importance pour la navigation.

Élimination du chevauchement des CÉN Canada - États-Unis dans les Grands Lacs - posté sur : 02/21/2013

En vue de se conformer aux pratiques convenues, le Canada et les États-Unis d'Amérique ont accepté d'éliminer le chevauchement des zones de couverture des cartes électroniques de navigation (CEN).

Accord de coordination des cartes marines Canada-É.-U. - posté sur : 11/16/2012

En vue de se conformer aux pratiques convenues, le Canada et les États-Unis d'Amérique ont convenu d'éliminer la couverture chevauchante des cartes électroniques de navigation (CÉN).
La première zone où ces changements ont été appliqués, Juan de Fuca Strait, Haro Strait et Boundary Pass, a été déployée le 15 décembre 2011. Les États-Unis d'Amérique et le Canada poursuivront l'élimination des chevauchements de CÉN dans les zones du Pacifique, de l'Atlantique et des Grands Lacs. En raison de ce nouveau dispositif de couverture de CÉN, les pays concernés devront modifier leur zone de couverture de manière à ce que les diverses zones ne soient couvertes que par une seule CÉN à une échelle donnée.

Fin de la production et de la distribution de Tracés - posté sur : 10/31/2012

Le SHC arrêtera de produire et de distribuer des Tracés le 31 décembre 2012 et cette section du site sera fermée. Grâce aux améliorations apportées aux processus de production et d'entretien des cartes, le SHC n'a plus besoin de créer de tracés pour mettre à jour ses cartes; en conséquence de quoi il ne pourra plus les distribuer.

Date de modification :